I-FMD is one of Lehigh Universities three Interdisciplinary Research Institutes (IRIs) and focuses on all aspects of cutting edge materials and device research

About the Institute

Lehigh University’s Institute for Functional Materials & Devices (I-FMD) pursues innovative new materials and devices that underpin many of society’s greatest challenges, from detecting and treating disease, to implementing large-scale renewable energy sources, to securing food and fresh water for all. I-FMD brings together Lehigh’s interdisciplinary expertise in the synthesis, fabrication, processing, and materials characterization as applied to sensors, actuators, and other devices that have critical functionality across mechanical, electronic, photonic, and chemical domains.

I-FMD Research Thrusts

  • Renewable Energy to Products: Sustainable Chemicals for Life 
  • Photonics and Optoelectronics
  • Active Soft Materials towards Bio-functional Nano-Robotics
  • Wound Healing and Biomaterials
  • High Performance Material Processing and Additive Manufacturing

I-FMD Office

Elsa Reichmanis

I-FMD Director

Dr. Xuanhong Cheng

Associate Director, I-FMD

Carolyn Law

Office Coordinator

Support for partnerships/collaboration

Dr. Kevin Major

Research Engagement Officer

Materials characterization facility

Dr. Chris Kiely

Director, Materials characterization facility

Dr. Masashi Watanabe

Associate director, Materials characterization facility

Dr. Sz-Chian Liou

TEM Manager

Dr. Ryan Thorpe

Research Scientist

Integrated nanofabrication and cleanroom facility (INCF)

Dr. Nick Strandwitz

Director, INCF

Dr. Renbo Song

INCF Technical Manager

Tony Jeffers

Cleanroom Manager

Core thrust leaders

Dr. Srinivas Rangarajan

Renewable energy to products: Sustainable chemicals for life

Dr. Ivan Biaggio

Center for photonics and nanoelectronics

Dr. James Gilchrist

Complex Hierarchies for Active/Responsive/Intelligent Soft Matter Assembly

Dr. Lesley Chow

Wound healing and biomaterials

Dr. John Coulter

High performance materials processing and additive manufacturing

Dr. Wojtek Misiolek

High performance materials processing and additive manufacturing

Associated Faculty

Jonas BaltrusaitisChemical and Biomolecular Engineering
Arindam BanerjeeMechanical Engineering
Yevgeny BerdichevskyBioengineering, Electrical and Computer Engineering
Subhrajit BhattacharyaMechanical Engineering and Mechanics
Ivan BiaggioPhysics
Angela BrownChemical and Biomolecular Engineering
Derick BrownCivil and Environmental Engineering
Helen ChanMaterials Science and Engineering
Manoj ChaudhuryChemical and Biomolecular Engineering
Mark ChenChemistry
Lesley ChowMaterials Science and Engineering
Crystal ChuChemistry
John CoulterMechanical Engineering
Eric DanielsChemical and Biomolecular Engineering
Volkmar DierolfPhysics
John DuPontMaterials Science and Engineering
Matthias FalkBiology
Greg FergusonChemistry
Robert FlowersChemistry
John FoxCivil and Environmental Engineering
Lisa FredinChemistry
James GilchristChemical and Biomolecular Engineering
Tomas Gonzalez-FernandezBioengineering
Joachim GrenestedtMechanical Engineering
Martin HarmerMaterials Science and Engineering
Niels Holten-AndersenBioengineering, Materials Science and Engineering
Wonpil ImBioengineering, Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering
Anand JagotaBioengineering, Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering
Himanshu JainMaterials Science and Engineering
Sabrina JedlickaMaterials Science and Engineering
Christopher KielyMaterials Science and Engineering
Yong W. KimPhysics
Sushil KumarElectrical and Computer Engineering
Kai LandskronChemistry
Yaling LiuMechanical Engineering
Steven McIntoshChemical and Biomolecular Engineering
Wojciech MisiolekMaterials Science and Engineering
Keith MooredMechanical Engineering
Nader MoteeMechanical Engineering and Mechanics
Herman NiedMechanical Engineering
Alparslan OztekinMechanical Engineering
Thomas PashuckBioengineering
Ray PearsonMaterials Science and Engineering
Stephen PetersEarth and Environmental Sciences
Siddha PimputkarMaterials Science and Engineering
Spencer QuielCivil and Environmental Engineering
Anand RamamurthiBioengineering
Srinivas RangarajanChemical and Biomolecular Engineering
Elsa ReichmanisChemical and Biomolecular Engineering
Jeff RickmanMaterials Science and Engineering
Jim RobertsChemistry
Bitan RoyPhysics
Richard SauseCivil and Environmental Engineering
Kelly SchultzChemical and Biomolecular Engineering
Mark SnyderChemical and Biomolecular Engineering
Michael StavolaPhysics
Nicholas StrandwitzMaterials Science and Engineering
Muhannad SuleimanCivil and Environmental Engineering
Svetlana Tatic-LucicElectrical and Computer Engineering
Damien TheveninChemistry
Dimitrios VavylonisPhysics
Natasha VermaakMechanical Engineering
David VicicChemistry
Israel WachsChemical and Biomolecular Engineering
Vassie C. WareBiology
Masashi WatanabeMaterials Science and Engineering
Edmund WebbMechanical Engineering
Nathan WittenbergChemistry
Xiaoji XuChemistry
Elizabeth YoungChemistry
Emory W. ZimmersIndustrial and Systems Engineering